La Rambla, 61 Barcelona
Project and Management
Client: Consorci del Gran Teatre del Liceu
The history of the Teatre del Liceu’s facade is fascinating, from it’s origins in 1845 it’s marked with the nonsense. The arrangement of the facade going through the limit of the site, and the imposition of the unfortunate drawing from part of the theatrer’s developer made the first architect resignated. In 1874 Oriol Mestres built the second facade with a very accurate and simple actuation, but in 1922, it was defaced by a third intervention. Now, the conditions are allowed us to make the fourth intervention recovering that second facade and restoring and exhibiting the four magnificent stained glasses that Oleguer Junyent designed in 1905.